# Світовий Контрес Українців



# Ukrainian World Congress

10 April 2013

# His Excellency Martin Schulz President of the European Parliament

Bât. Paul-Henri Spaak 09B012 Rue Wiertz 60 B-1047 Brussels, Belgium martin.schulz@europarl.europa.eu

# His Excellency José Manuel Barroso President of the European Commission

Bât. Berlaymont Rue de la Loi 200 B-1049 Brussels, Belgium jose-manuel.barroso@ec.europa.eu

#### His Excellency Jerzy Buzek Former President of the European Parliament

Bât. Paul-Henri Spaak 08B046 Rue Wiertz 60 B-1047 Brussels, Belgium jerzy.buzek@europarl.europa.eu

# His Excellency Gilbert Saboya Sunyé Chairperson of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe

Palais de l'Europe Avenue de l'Europe F-67075 Strasbourg Cedex, France cm@coe.int

# His Excellency Jacek Protasiewicz Vice President of the European Parliament

Bât. Altiero Spinelli 14E205 Rue Wiertz 60 B-1047 Brussels, Belgium jacek.protasiewicz@europarl.europa.eu

# **His Excellency Herman Van Rompuy President of the European Council**

Bât. Justus Lipsius Rue de la Loi 175 B-1048 Brussels, Belgium hvry@consilium.europa.eu

# His Excellency Thorbjørn Jagland Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Palais de l'Europe Avenue de l'Europe F-67075 Strasbourg Cedex, France bjorn.berge@coe.int valerie.poppe-muess@coe.int

#### Her Excellency Catherine Ashton High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice President of the European Commission

Bât. Berlaymont
Rue de la Loi 200
B-1049 Brussels, Belgium
catherine.ashton@ec.europa.eu

# His Excellency Jean-Claude Mignon President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

Assemblée nationale 126 rue de l'Université 75355 Paris 07 SP, France jean-claude.mignon@coe.int jcmignon@assemblee-nationale.fr

# His Excellency Štefan Füle European Commissioner for Enlargement and Neighbourhood Policy

Bât. Berlaymont Rue de la Loi 200 B-1049 Brussels, Belgium anne.mueller@ec.europa.eu iwona.piorko@ec.europa.eu His Excellency Elmar Brok Chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs of the European Parliament

Bât. Altiero Spinelli 05E240 Rue Wiertz 60 B-1047 Brussels, Belgium elmar.brok@europarl.europa.eu His Excellency Pawel Kowal Chair of the European Parliament Delegation to the EU-Ukraine Parliamentary Cooperation Committee

Bât. Willy Brandt 02M107 Rue Wiertz 60 B-1047 Brussels, Belgium pawelrobert.kowal@europarl.europa.eu ppurski@gmail.com

Dear Madam: Dear Sirs:

Re: Release of Former Interior Minister Yuriy Lutsenko and Former Environmental Protection Minister Heorhiy Filipchuk

Please find attached the English translation of our letters of 10 April 2013 and 12 February 2013 to President Viktor Yanukovych regarding the release of former Interior Minister Yuriy Lutsenko and former Environmental Protection Minister Heorhiy Filipchuk.

The Ukrainian World Congress calls on the EU leadership to take appropriate measures to ensure that Russia complies with the 1994 *Memorandum on Security Assurances in connection with Ukraine's accession to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons* (signed by the UK, the U.S., Ukraine and Russia) and stops using Russian gas as a political weapon in order to pull Ukraine into the *Customs* and *Eurasian Unions* and create a new Soviet Union.

This serious threat to "re-Sovietise the region" can be averted with the signing of the EU-Ukraine Association Agreement during the Third Summit of the Eastern Partnership on 28-29 November 2013 in Vilnius.

Sincerely,

UKRAINIAN WORLD CONGRESS

Eugene Czolij President

c.c. His Excellency Viktor Yanukovych, President of Ukraine Ukrainian World Congress Member Organizations

The Ukrainian World Congress (UWC) is the international coordinating body for Ukrainian communities in the diaspora representing the interests of over 20 million Ukrainians. The UWC has member organizations in 33 countries and ties with Ukrainians in 14 additional countries. Founded in 1967 as a non-profit corporation, the UWC was recognized in 2003 by the United Nations Economic and Social Council as a non-governmental organization (NGO) with special consultative status.